I’m proud to be an American!

 

It’s September 11, 2011, ten years after the horrible attack on the United States.  I’m listening to the children reading the names of their lost parents, the ringing of the bells and newscasters recalling the devastating events.

There is nothing I can offer, my words are weak, but I do feel deeply for our nation that lost so much that day.  I was moved to put up our beautiful American Flag this morning.  I live at the end of the street, and possibly I will be the only one to see that, but it doesn’t matter, it’s my one small effort to honor all those victims and families.

My first sight of the Twin Towers was in 1986, soon after Art & I were married.  We were taking of walking tour of New York City with his son Dean.  I was overwhelmed by the sheer immensity of those towers. Never in my wildest thoughts did I imagine those towers could be brought down by terrorists –not in America!  Six years ago, friends and I took a bus tour of the city, where we saw this devastating sight of destruction where the towers once stood.  Now, I will be seeing New York again in a few months.  I will need to see the memorial that reminds us American’s are strong, resilient and never give up.

So, my few words won’t make a difference to the events and memories, but again, it was important to me to fly our flag to remind me, if no one else, how lucky we are to be born in American, how fragile our safety is, and how strong we must be to secure our future. I am so very proud to be an American

