Mt. Shasta City – a breath of cool, fresh air!

I’ve zipped right past Mt. Shasta City I don’t know how many times on my way North, and it’s probably been 20 years since I’ve walked the streets (well, that didn’t come out right!) of the downtown area.

I attended the wedding of my young friend Sarah King (now McGinnis) last week, and rather than drive home in the dark after the reception, I decided to stay the night and make a leisurely trip back to Redding after the light of day.

The wedding was beautiful and the reception just a whole lot of fun.  It was a big gathering of cops and cowboys and their families.  Everyone having a very good time.

I stayed at the Best Western Plus Tree House that evening, and will certainly make reservations there again.  Squeeky clean bathroom, good mattress, lots of towels, and the complimentary full breakfast was above and beyond the usual skimpy continental breakfasts’ available at other motel chains.  A very pleasant surprise! Brian Linsley, General Manager, is to be congratulated on the well run operation! Call them for reservations 530-926-3101.

Mt. Shasta is a great little town for leisure shopping – lots of variety.  There were several small restaurants downtown, however the sandwich selection at one of the health food shops caught my eyes.  Nice crunchy brown bread with all veggie ingredients.  Including avocado, pesto, and tomatoes– all my favorites.

It was just a short trip, my cats didn’t even have time to miss me, but a great place for a much-needed break from Redding heat!

Congratulations Sarah & Eddie!

