Travel Agencies vs Internet

Like an avid shopper reads the sale ads, my eyes lock onto anything that pertains to travel, so this morning I wasn’t too surprised to see Avanti Travel’s latest ad in the local newspaper.

In essence it says”:  “The Internet is for Looking, Avanti is for Booking” .

Truer words were never said.  When I first started in this business, there was no computer, no Internet, we did it all by hand – or actually by fingers when we looking through the hundreds of pages of airline schedules in the OAG (Official Airline Guide).  We booked by punching numbers into the old manual phones (I have the arthritic fingers to prove it).

Don’t misunderstand me, I’m not about to bash the Internet here; it has it place, especially for research.  I use it all the time, but when it’s time to book, to lay down real money, I go to my favorite travel agency, which just happens to be Avanti. If you have an agency you’ve worked with and they do a good job, go back when you’re ready to book again – they are your best bet for knowledge and experience.

They have the answers to your questions, and suggestions you may not have considered.  And, when the day is done, you’ve booked your reservations, and made your deposit, there is a friendly face across the desk that is there for you, now and after your trip.

Oh yes, just in case you do not have a regular travel agent you work with, give Avanti a call.  530-244-1400

